Conspiracy Theories Conspiracy Theories
Entertainment Entertainment
Other Topics Other Topics
Galleries Photo Gallery
Achives Archives Other Topics
Leaderboard Leaderboard Leaderboard
Help and Support Help & Support
Online Now
3 active members (AlienCatcher, Xeno, 1 invisible), 186 anonymous users, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Head Mod, Mod
Statistics
Forum Directory49
Threads1,740
Posts14,200
Members402
Most Online498
Mar 30th, 2019
Newest Members
AlienCatcher, Starchild, debra odem, Tamilmovies, Vhedza1
402 Registered Users
Member Spotlight
Zoa
Zoa
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Xeno 214
Sophia 62
Music 21
Matt 11
Top Posters(All Time)
Xeno 4,268
EdMan 1,353
Music 976
George 345
IronGhost 309
Stormy 295
Spock 278
Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Rate Thread
The Language We Use to Describe the Phenomenon. #13866
09/14/2019 12:49 AM
09/14/2019 12:49 AM
R
Ressler Offline OP
Recruit
Ressler  Offline OP
Recruit
R

Now, I'm not a scientist or mathematician so I will make mistakes but I believe there are many educated people here who can parse what I am saying into the correct terms as needed. And I would like their input on this.

My premise is that science and academia has a very precise language. And UFO fans don't really have that. And the discrepancy between the two is what causes a lot of the acrimony between sceptics and believers.

For example, many people in the UFO field will talk about alternate "Dimensions", and that would appear to mean in the UFO community to be a physical space, somehow shifted into an alternate universe. But as far as I understand it Dimension as a mathematical or Physics term doesn't mean that. If a mathematician could jump in here and tell us what a "Dimension" actually is I think that would be helpful.
river slots sweepstakes

Last edited by Ressler; 09/14/2019 12:50 AM.
Reply Quote
Advertisement
Re: The Language We Use to Describe the Phenomenon. [Re: Ressler] #13882
09/15/2019 07:18 PM